The Ethan Post Area

Please post the your entries in your WordPress/SoundCloud accounts first as you would a regular assignment. Then post your “Daily Meds” entry (Word Form) under this section along with you SoundCloud link (under the “Daily Meds” section the recording applies to) of your recording assignment of the day. Remember this is to be done everyday for the rest of the course.  Each day you will pick a topic/theme from a new page in the “Daily Meds” to create, record and write on. You will turn-in two daily assignments to this “Daily Med Blog” (Personal WordPress blog and Soundcloud recording) in one post under the “Students Designated Post Area” . Start with your WordPress Account first, then Musical Daily Meds Blog, then Copy and Paste that Link under this post in the “Leave a Reply” section. All posts on all three WordPress sites(1. Students account. 2. Musical Daily Meds. 3. Intro to Audio.) need to be labeled with the student’s name, time, week, day, date, and topic title at the beginning of the post (Example: John Doe, 11:25pm, Week 1 Day 3 April 28, Begin Again). Remember you can link all assignment topics to the “Daily Meds Topic” of choice to help aid in finding a source of inspiration that is best for your recording and video needs. The Daily Meds Workbook can be found at (https://musicaldailymeds.wordpress.com/the-workbook/).

19 thoughts on “The Ethan Post Area

  1. Ethan Campbell. Week 1. June 8th 2015.

    Day 1 of 17. Daily Page: Daily Dose #79 : In Time

    1. (Mental Section) – Creative Word : Gradual Process

    A keyboard being dropped. Reversed and time stretched 38x. Added Big room reverb with long decay. Added delay stuttering at 140Bpm. Parametric equalization dropping some mud in the 66Hz range and boosting 1438Hz and a little high shelf on 6675-20000Hz. A low pass filter engaging as the sample progresses. Lastly a limiting compressor preventing any clipping by limiting volume at 5.0dB

    Like

  2. Ethan Campbell. Week 1. July 8th 2015.
    Day 1 of 17. Daily Page: Daily Dose #85 : The Paradox of Success

    1. Creative Word: Big Approach

    I took the sounds of whales underwater and processed it to modulate a unisono saw wave around 40Hz (A#3) using a vocoder. than added lots of reverb, ran it through some parametric equalization and finally compressed it to a max volume of 0.0dB with a limiter.

    2.Creative Experiment: Listening to the Unlistenable

    I got stuck on the idea of a sample to use in this one. so when I saw “Listening to the Unlistenable ” I thought of Deep Oceans. So I took some whale sounds off of youtube and messed around with it for a little bit to see what i could do. I made a pretty applicable atmospheric sound to add some filler to a song.

    3.Daily Dose: The Paradox of Success

    I picked out of this topic that success isn’t instant. Success comes with time and humility. We must let the flow of music take its own natural course of action in our lives before we are to be successful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ethan Campbell. Week 1. July 9th 2015.
    Day 2 of 17. Daily Page: Daily Dose #16: Flow

    1. Creative Word: Standing Still

    2. Creative Experiment: Standing Still
    When I think of time stopping I right away think of the power it would take to perform such a task. and I believe powerful things carry a powerful sound. Such as a star exploding would create base tones powerful enough to make you explode. So when time stops there must be some ominous sound lurking in the air. I apply this to myself by realizing that sound can be found everywhere if it can be found nowhere.

    3. Daily Dose: Flow
    I picked out of this that in order to be creative one must remove on conflicting feelings of popular genres and find the creative techniques within the song or genre to create a peaceful flow through your mind of all music and through that being able to calmly achieve musical innovation.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. New amazing idea for daily beat. I’m going to make a full song. this is the first 25 seconds. spent 150 minutes on this part which is the only part so far, the intro. I will upload the track piece by piece as my daily beat and then all together when its done.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ethan Campbell. Week 3. July 19th 2015.
    Day 12 of 17. Daily Page: Daily Dose #62: Mistakes and Blunders

    2 Music Apps – TonePad, and Auxy: Beat Studio

    1.Creative Word: Show Maturity

    2.Creative Experiment: Asking a Senior

    I have started some conversations with a senior named Dave Gray (Just kidding, you’re not close to that old). But seriously Dave is for sure a matured man with MUCH knowledge in his head. When I’m asking him questions he go go to musical places that I haven’t even explored and sometimes i have never even heard. I do not have any seniors in my life so I thought I’d just mention the high quality musical and intellectual conversations I have with one of the smartest, experienced, and coolest guys I know.

    3.Daily Dose: Mistakes and Blunders

    I think It’s to take in that concept of flow. Not think to hard of the poor things that come out of music. Producers have tons of bad things come out of their systems and sometimes between their top hits they make things that will never see the light of day. But those hidden songs were steps to making there next big thing. I’m sure producers like Skrillex and Deadmau5 have a VIP or two of there greatest songs. Every song will not come out amazing.

    Daily Beat

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sorry I haven’t been uploading full force. I’m really all over the EP thing trying to get three 3-6min songs going on, also I’m preparing to head to Alberta this Saturday morning for a month, along with sorting stuff out for purchasing a macbook. What I’m lacking in the daily meds you will for sure get in the EP. I’ve got a daily beat with a visualizer today. Let me know what you think because I plan on having one for every song in my EP.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

